Return to 2022 Election

Arapahoe County Commission District 4

Arapahoe County is “Colorado’s First County.” The County was established on August 25, 1855 by the Kansas Territorial Legislature, predating Colorado’s statehood in 1876. It was named after the Arapahoe Nation that lived in the area. Over the decades since Colorado’s statehood, the county borders have been reduced from covering the entire state to its present day boundaries located in the center-eastern part of the state. Arapahoe County is the state’s third largest populous county and overlaps with the cities of Aurora, Centennial, Cherry Hills Village, Englewood, Glendale, Greenwood Village, Littleton, and Sheridan, as well as dozens of townships and communities in unincorporated areas. The County is divided into 5 County Commission Districts.

Arapahoe County Commission District 4 is a diverse community which comprises a portion of unincorporated Arapahoe County known as “Four Square Mile” and Southwest Aurora.

Total Population – 121,906 (2016)

Shared Jurisdictions

  • Congressional District – 6
  • State Senate District(s) – 26 & 28
  • State House District(s) – 40 & 41
  • Aurora City Council Ward(s) – 4 & 5
  • Aurora Public School District
  • Cherry Creek School District
  • RTD Board District(s) E & F